CLEAN SLATE

It’s been a quite some time since I wrote something not for any particular reason but most probably laziness lol..
So lately I have been thinking about this whole clean slate theory….i have seen so many people wish for a clean state in life…fresh start they say… I myself wished for one at a certain point in my life though not anymore!

I imagine this fresh start means being given a chance to erase our past and experience life like a newborn baby, forget our past life ie mistakes, hurts, embarrassments and anything that could cause regret or shame but then again they say ‘life is the art of drawing without an eraser’

You are probably wondering why I decided to write about this…here is the reason;
I recently read about someone who survived the genocide in Rwanda and she said that there was nobody left on the face of the earth, either friend or relative, who knew who she was. No one remembered her girlhood and her early mischief and family lore; no sibling or boon companion who could tease her about her first romance; no lover or pal with whom to reminisce. All her birthdays, exam results, illnesses, friendships, kinships -gone. She went on living, but with a tabula rasa as her diary, calendar and notebook.
This story can’t seem to leave my mind and I think of it every time I hear of the callow ambition to make ‘a new start’ or to be ‘born again’ Do those who talk this way really wish for the slate to be wiped clean or would they select what to be wiped and what to be kept?
I know that sometimes in life we wish for second chances to re do what we have already done but I have come to appreciate that having a past whether good or bad is good for our growth. After all how will you tell how far you have come if you cannot remember where you started?
Doing life differently doesn’t require us to forget how we did it before and its never too late to change what you don’t like…the notion that that it’s too late to do anything is comical! Like Mo Willems once said, “if you ever find yourself in the wrong story, leave” he didn’t say find ways to forget the story!
I hope you have the strength to live with your past.
Till next time,

 Xx

